Studio built above garage..?

How thick should my walls be, should I float my floors (and if so, how), why is two leaf mass-air-mass design important, etc.

Moderators: Aaronw, sharward

JOHNNYGATE

Studio built above garage..?

Post by JOHNNYGATE »

I am moving and building a new house. I am a complete newb to this PRO studio design. I have done all my recordings in closets lol. The common design for a room on the house is to build what’s called a bonus room above the garage. It would be the size of the 2 car or 2 ½ car garage. I was wondering if this is ok for a studio. I know that here in the NY area they have studios that the pros use in skyscrapers. Ill start with that as my first of probably a thousand questions… : ) Thank you so much this forum looks great.
knightfly

Post by knightfly »

Hey, Johnny - welcome to the forum. I'll plant some seeds to get you started -

First, having a studio above ANYTHING is less than ideal from an equipment transport point of view, unless you have an elevator or a handful of young, strong roadies - however, it can be done if you plan ahead for the worst of the pitfalls. As far as sound proofing is concerned, it's MUCH better that you are building from scratch rather than try to compensate for lack of planning. There are different ways of doing things if you KNOW you're going to want sound proof areas, and some of those methods aren't available AFTER the building is up, without MAJOR re-modeling.

Stairways are one example - I have a link to some info on the US Gypsum site that covers the proper way to build stairwells for sound performance, when I find it I'll post here. Also, stairs can be a real bitch to get gear up so you need to consider the path you and the gear will have to make. This means gentler pitch to stairs, wider stairways, no 90 degree landings with rails unless you make the rails removable, making a proper sound lock out of the stairwell, etc.