monitor soffit questions?

Plans and things, layout, style, where do I put my near-fields etc.

Moderators: Aaronw, kendale, John Sayers

jc71

monitor soffit questions?

Post by jc71 »

Hi! About monitor soffits. I have been reading up on your forums but I still have some questions & concerns. What type of material should be used for the front baffle? Is plywood ok? How thick? Also if you can tell from my drawings, should the speaker be placed in the center of the baffle or is it ok to have it near the side wall? My thought is to try & spread the speakers farther apart. If I understand it correctly the idea is to extend the front face of the speaker. I plan on mounting Event 20/20's. What sugestions would you make to my plans? Any & all help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!
Jeff
JOHNNYGATE

Post by JOHNNYGATE »

I’m no expert on room design at all, that’s why I’m here.. hehe. But I have owned designed and set up a lot of HI-FI systems. They never recommend speakers placed too close to a wall as this will give gain to frequencies and make the speaker non linear.
John Sayers
Site Admin

Post by John Sayers »

I'd go for the center of the baffle design. Sure - it's not as wide but it will sound better IMO. Yes - plywood 5/8" for the front baffle.

cheers
john
Fieryjack

Post by Fieryjack »

Jeff,

Are those slot resonators on the left and right side walls of the control room?

Jeff
jc71

Post by jc71 »

Yes those are slot resonators Fieryjack. Look back for the "oh what to do?" post its shows some side elevation drawings... I think???

John, hey thanks for your speedy response yet again! So for one last time before I get ready to start in your humble opinion is there anything that you think I should do differently?

Thanks!
Jeff
John Sayers
Site Admin

Post by John Sayers »

before I get ready to start in your humble opinion is there anything that you think I should do differently?